Apprenticeship programs give workers high-quality on-the-job training and classroom instruction.
Use these tools and resources to become an apprentice, start a program, or manage an existing program.
Apprenticeship programs give workers high-quality on-the-job training and classroom instruction. Find a program, learn more, or start a program
Led by Labor Commissioner Val Hoyle, the Bureau of Labor and Industries protects employment rights, advances employment opportunities, and protects access to housing and public accommodations free from discrimination for all Oregonians.
It also regulates and supports apprenticeship programs to develop Oregon’s workforce.
The four principle duties of the Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) are to:
We protect and defend Oregonians’ civil rights. We investigate civil rights violations at work, when finding a home, and in public places around the state.
We ensure employees are paid what they earn. We enforce laws related to minimum wage, overtime, terms and conditions of employment and prevailing wage rates on public works projects. We also help workers recover wages owed by an employer.
Our Technical Assistance for Employers Program (TA) provides a variety of guidance and services to help employees follow the law. This includes statewide public seminars; customized, on-site trainings; employment law manuals and publications; and an assistance hotline that responds to questions from employers via phone and email.
Apprenticeships are paid, on-the-job training programs that give Oregonians pathways to family wage jobs. Promote the development of a highly skilled, competitive workforce in Oregon through the apprenticeship program and through partnerships with government, labor, business, and educational institutions.
Trainings are available for apprenticeship programs and adminstrators to help you manage your Oregon program.
Participants in this training will:
Oregon laws protect workers and ensure that you are paid for the work you do.
You must get paid at least Oregon’s hourly minimum wage.
The minimum wage you should get depends on which county you work in, but no matter what you should make at least $11.50 per hour (some areas are higher).
The minimum wage goes up every year. The next increase is on July 1, 2020.
If you work more than 40 hours in one week, you must receive overtime pay of 1.5 times your regular pay rate. There are some exceptions but they are uncommon.
Employers are required to pay you on a regular payday schedule.
Paydays may not be more than 35 days apart.
Employers may not withhold or delay your paychecks as a form of discipline or in exchange for the return of employer-owned items held by the employee.
There are strict requirements that apply to the payment of final wages when you are fired, laid off, or quit.
Deductions from paychecks are allowed if legally required (such as taxes) or if you voluntarily agree in writing and the deduction is for your benefit. Your paycheck must show the amount and purpose of each deduction.
Every worker must get equal pay for equal work regardless of your gender, race, age, or other protected characteristics.
Your employer must pay you the same amount as other people doing comparable work (including wages, bonuses, benefits, and more).
It’s illegal for your employer to pay you less than someone else because of your race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, marital status, veteran status, disability or age.
Your employer can’t give someone a pay cut to make their pay equal with other employees.
Oregon law gives all workers sick time.
All Oregon workers get protected sick time. You get at least 1 hour of protected sick time for every 30 hours you work up to 40 hours per year. (Employers can choose to frontload at least 40 hours of sick time at the beginning of the year.)
You can use sick time for many reasons, including if you or a family member is sick, injured, experiencing mental illness, or need to visit the doctor.
You get paid sick time if your employer has 10 or more employees (6 or more if they have a location in Portland). Otherwise, sick time is protected but unpaid.
You can start taking sick time after you’ve worked for at least 90 days.
Your employer must regularly let you know how much sick time you have earned.